Re: Section V20002A
If there were no injuries, then there was no violation of the statute. Plead Not Guilty, and be prepared to go to trial.
Maximum sentence:
1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), any person who
violates subdivision (a) shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison, or in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a
fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than
ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both that imprisonment and
fine.
(2) If the accident described in subdivision (a) results in death
or permanent, serious injury, any person who violates subdivision (a)
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two,
three, or four years, or in a county jail for not less than 90 days
nor more than one year, or by a fine of not less than one thousand
dollars ($1,000) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by
both that imprisonment and fine. However, the court, in the
interests of justice and for reasons stated in the record, may reduce
or eliminate the minimum imprisonment required by this paragraph.
Please contact me directly at (619) 222-3504.