California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/24/13, 12:34 pm

i have three warrents for my arrest that are not felonies.it is for failure to appear.i really dont want to go to jail how can i stay out of jail and deal with this issue

4 Answers


Answered on: 5/24/13, 1:36 pm by Kelvin Green

Contact an attorney, see if the attorney can appear for you at least initially and resolve the charges


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/24/13, 6:02 pm by Anthony Roach

Going to court when you are supposed to would help. Having a fugitive status is not a good way to handle your legal problems.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/24/13, 6:15 pm by Joshua Hale

Hire an attorney and go to court of your own volition.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Hale Law Group 4630 Border Village Rd. N171 San Ysidro, CA 92173

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/27/13, 11:41 am by Terry A. Nelson

What you want, and what you get, are generally two different things in life. When you blow off the court [judges] three times, do you really think they are going to care much what you want??

Seriously, to handle a warrant, you must turn yourself in to the issuing court, with or without an attorney. On misdemeanors and infractions, an attorney can appear in court without the defendant being present – which is safer and avoids immediately being taken into custody. You’ll try to negotiate a recall of the warrant[s] and seek bail reduction or OR release. You’ll try to negotiate a plea bargain on any ‘Failure to Appear’ charge or probation violation that caused the warrant. You’ll try to negotiate a plea bargain or take to trial the outstanding charge that caused the warrant. Turning yourself in voluntarily will result in a better outcome than being brought in chains to court after arrest on the warrant. That can happen if you come in contact with law enforcement or customs anywhere in the country. While this isn't a 'capital case', you now face potential jail and fines, so handle it right. Effective plea-bargaining by your attorney, using whatever legal defenses, facts and sympathies there may be, could possibly keep you out of jail/prison, or at least dramatically reduce it, and may enable you to get your probation and programs reinstated. Unless you're competent to effectively represent yourself in court against a professional prosecutor trying to put you in jail, most people hire an attorney who can.

If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search