California | Discrimination Law
5/14/09, 6:04 pm
Legal Question
Chapter 11
Can I file a discrimination lawsuit to
a company that laid me off when
they filed chapter 11?
Chapter 11
Can I file a discrimination lawsuit to
a company that laid me off when
they filed chapter 11?
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
Re: Chapter 11 If you have a valid discrimination case, sure, you can file, but not after they go BK unless you file a BK Claim and seek 'relief from Stay' from the BK court to pursue your claim. Your claim may be discharged in BK, leaving you nothing to pursue. If it is not, you may have to litigate your case in the BK court, or they may allow you to proceed in state court. It's up to the BK judge. Plus, if they are BK, what makes you think you will ever collect anything even if you do win your claim after spending a ton of time and money doing so? |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Chapter 11 You would probably have to bring the suit in the Federal Bankruptcy Court as an action within the bankruptcy case, and my guess is that your chances of getting reinstated or substantial monetary reflief would be slight, but you should probably re-ask your question on LawGuru under the bankruptcy law subject heading and gove us some detail as to what the discrimination consisted of. |
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
Re: Chapter 11 Upon the filing of the Chapter 11 petition, the Court issued an automatic stay which prevents you from taking any adverse action against the debtor (the company) without prior bankruptcy court approval. Your claim against them would have to be filed in the Bankruptcy Court, and frankly, you will end up with nothing better than an unsecured, non-priority claim which are the last to get paid if they reorganize or liquidate. I don't know any attorneys who work in Bankruptcy who would take this on a contingency fee - the way attorneys would outside of bankruptcy. The reason is recovery is far to speculative. Most attorneys familiar with litigating in Bankruptcy Court are going to tell you that they want a very sizeable retainer up front, and that your chances of recovery are probably slim. Rather than re-posting this on the Bankruptcy law section, contact a bankruptcy attorney - not the attorneys who represent debtors (that advertise Chapter 7 and 13 bankruptcy) but creditor attorneys. I don't want to discourage you from investigating this further, but don't get your hopes up that this will result in a windfall.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Mother passes away My mother passes and her husband buried her in jewish trad and...
► Discrimination - Sexual Orientation Recently, a co-worker got into a heated...
► Loud music My neighbor call the police on us when we have music @ 3:30 pm, isn't the...
► Car I've been paying for a car for 3 years now and the car is under my ex-boyfriends...
► Gender Discrimination I am a woman and two years ago I was hired by a large...
► Love What can possibly happen to a 21 year old dating a 17 year old? What would he...
► Kiss with minor. hello. I'm very worried about what I did a few days ago. somehow i...
More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press