California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 2:47 pm

Legal Question


Trying to get a criminal exempton thru State to work in healthcare field.All my felonies have been expunged since 2004. Do i need to include the misdemeanors also.The reports that i rececived from DOJ don't say anything about that. Will this exemption cover all future background checks with State. Can I get some advice for this matter.


question bubble
11/16/09, 4:36 pm

Legal Answer


Many convictions can be 'expunged' by proper application and Motion to the court,as you've found, but even if expunged, the conviction is still a 'prior' for purposes of repeat offense, and must be disclosed on any application for government and professional licensing, bonding, security clearance, etc. If you’ve got any that haven't been expunged, you should do do now. Feel free to contact me for legal help if you need it.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search