California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
deceptive hiring
is it legal for a company with a
government
contract places an ad for a job when
the person to
be hired has already been chosen and
may in fact
be known to or a friend of the hiring
personnel ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: George Shers |
Re: deceptive hiring I am not an expert in this field, but common sense would suggest that it not a violation of federal laws as it is not based upon improper discrimination. You might have a very, very weak tort claim against the company for your time and travel expense, but it is definitely not worth pursuing. Contact the HR department of the company and complain to them, find out from them if there is a federal agency you can also complain to. It will be very difficult to show the hiring was improper. It is not uncommon for a government department that wants to hire a specific individual to announce to an interview and then select that person as the finalist. A company is free to hire anyone unless it has entered into a contract with the government not to. I doubt any such contractual obigation exists in your case, but you can ask the company and the governmental entity involved. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


