California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
5/09/09, 3:50 am

Legal Question


Discrimination - Sexual Orientation

Recently, a co-worker got into a heated discussion with another lesbian co-worker of mine and the co-worker told my lesbian co-worker, that I was a bitch and a queen and she was my little bitch. In addition, since my lesbian co-worker was angry about these comments made she wanted to diffuse the situation simply by leaving the scene but her exit was blocked by our co-worker which ultimately made her feel very uncomfortable. Luckily, someone came to check out the situation and she was able to leave. Since we are both gay, we feel very descrimated against by this co-woker as well as concerned as to what may happen should our co-worker get enraged again. It seems the company is uncertain as to what to do and seems that they are just going to document the situation, however, we feel that if the same occurred to our co-worker but with a racial slur (as she is african american) that something more than an entry into our personnel file would occur. Is there any merit here for a case against the company for not doing any more besides documenting the event as we both feel very uncomfortable just going to work on a daily basis?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search