California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
10/14/09, 10:59 pm

Legal Question


I am employed with a very large (leading) nation wide telecommunications company for the last 5 1/2 yrs. I work with men who have 25 yrs plus with the company and I am the only female supervisor in California for my dept ( I am part of the good old boys club). I have put up with sexual harrassment, discrimination, and been put down and talked down to by my boss and even in front of the director of the company. I have recently been targeted in a reduction in force (I lost my job effect 10/30/09). I know that my boss chose this opprotunity to get rid of me when others should have been targeted. I am not the lowest performer in my group I have actually been doing well, however, I do not play in my bosses band or join him at local hang outs like some of my co workers. My question here is, is it too late to file a law suit against this company for the harrasment that I have endured? I know that I should have said something prior to but I just moved offices instead away from my boss in fear of retaliation. I was sick and was taken out of work for 4 to 5 weeks but my boss would not let me take the time off, so I had to work until I went into surgeyI was so sick and only ended up taking two weeks off instead of a 4 to 6 weeks in order not to mess up his absentee rate and lower his bonus. I never took time off even though I was stressed out at work. He made it hard for me to take time off. Note: I was getting paid quite well as a supervisor and these positions are hard to walk into so everyone does what they have to to kept them. I chose not to play that and just do my work. They have offerred me a severance if I sign this can I not sue them? I do not have the money for an attorney (as I will not have a job after 2 weeks) but I want to know if I could persue a law suit? Or can they stand behind that they are just downsizing? Do I have a good case? Or should I just take what they are offerring? I really think that he used this chance to get rid of me instead of the lowest performer in our group.

Sincerely,

Looking for a lawyer in California...


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search