California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
2/02/09, 6:42 pm

Legal Question


exploitation

Is it exploitation for an employer to use your talents and sevices for his own good (for example adminstrative duties like copies, booking and coordinating trips, typing up notes and designing powerpoints) knowing that I was not getting paid for it. I was previously employed there but was no longer an employee, I would just sit in to enjoy the meetings and do my work. I was recieving no pay check and the people that were supposed to be doing the tasks that he had me doing were still getting paid for it. I asked him to pay me when it started getting out of control which he orally agreed to but then never did. I was volunteering my time and it was taken advantage of. Are there any laws against that?


question bubble
2/02/09, 7:33 pm

Legal Answer


Re: exploitation

I dont know about exploitation but it sounds like you may have been an employee. how many hours did you work for this person?

Best,

Daniel Bakondi, Esq.

IMPORTANT:

No attorney-client nor confidential relationship is created through this communication. You may not rely in any way on this communication, and nothing herein constitutes legal advice nor legal opinion. Your issue may be time sensitive and may result in loss of rights if you do not obtain an attorney immediately.

Daniel Bakondi

The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC 870 Market Street, Suite 1161 San Francisco, CA 94102

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/02/09, 8:27 pm

Legal Answer


Re: exploitation

You could file a claim for compensation with the Labor Commissioner if you had any admissible evidence that he agreed to pay.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search