California  |  Discrimination Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/07/13, 5:28 pm

I filed a discrimination claim with my companies HR department. Is there a legal time frame that they have to get back with me on there investigation results?

3 Answers


Answered on: 3/07/13, 5:37 pm by Alden Knisbacher

No, but they are required to complete an indepedent, thorough investigation, and ensure a workplace free of discrimination.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Knisbacher Law Offices 220 Montgomery Street, Suite 961 San Francisco, CA 94104

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/08/13, 1:11 am by Charles Perry

On the other hand, you have deadlines to file your claim with the DFEH and/or EEOC that you must meet in order to preserve your right to sue in court. I would contact one or both of these agencies immediately and start the process of filing a claim.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Charles R. Perry 1500 Bayberry Street Hollister, 95023

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/08/13, 11:31 am by Terry A. Nelson

No.

But if they don't do so in a 'reasonable' time, demand a decision.

You have only one year from the 'incident' of discrimination to bring legal action, regardless of the outcome of the investigation.

If you decide to pursue your legal claims, feel free to contact me for the help you'll need in filing suit. I've been doing these for over 25 years.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search