California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
7/31/08, 5:21 pm

Legal Question


Pain medication

My husband was admitted to a Kaiser Rehab. due to addiction to pain medication. When he got out, the dr. prescribed hime more medication including a pain medication (mobic). He passed away due to this pain medication. He had high blood pressure and was taking medication for his high blood pressure. According to my research, mobic along with other pain medication contributed to his death due to his high blood pressure. Cause of death was determined hypertensive cardio vascular disease. Do I have a case of medical malpractice or wrongful death? Pls. advise. Thanks


question bubble
8/01/08, 2:43 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Pain medication

I agree with Mr. Nelson. Condolences for your loss.

Robert L. Bennett

Law offices of Robert L. Bennett 2117 N. Baker St. Bakersfield, CA 93305

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
8/01/08, 2:44 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Pain medication

I agree with Mr. Nelson. Condolences for your loss.

Robert L. Bennett

Law offices of Robert L. Bennett 2117 N. Baker St. Bakersfield, CA 93305

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
7/31/08, 5:47 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Pain medication

It sounds like you might have a case for wrongful death if experts believe that an improper prescription led to your husband's passing. I would be happy to give you a consultation if you call my office.

Disclaimer: Nothing herein constitutes legal advice. No attorney client nor confidential relationship is created. You may not rely on attorney nor anything communicated unless and until an attorney-client relationship has been formed. Your issue may be time sensitive, requiring you to act immediately to prevent loss of your rights or harm to your interests.

Daniel Bakondi

The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC 870 Market Street, Suite 1161 San Francisco, CA 94102

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
7/31/08, 6:03 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Pain medication

An attorney can not answer that question, only a doctor can. I can sympathize with you, speculate with you, and agree with you it is terrible, but unless you get an 'expert' medical opinion that says it was negligence /malpractice, you don't even get to file a case. Therefore, start looking for such 'expert' opinion, by talking to the coroner's office concerning their determination, to see if they are willing to say the drug interaction was at least part of the cause of death. You will likely need to get assistance from an attorney to refer you to appropriate doctors for consultation. Feel free to contact me if serious about doing this.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search