California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
If a person at school says that they don't like me because i'm asain is that racial harassment?and could they get in trouble for that if they are an adult?
If a person at school says that they don't like me because i'm asain is that racial harassment?and could they get in trouble for that if they are an adult?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
I don't think it's racial harassment, unless the other person does something overt to cause you aggravation, like trash your locker, take your books, or even worse. People have a right to dislike others, even based upon bias or stereotypes. Nevertheless, you might want to bring the person's statement to the attention of a guidance counselor, since it shows bias which should be addressed before it becomes something worse. In addition, a guidance counselor, respected teacher, or even a parent or community/religious elder might be able to help you cope with the inevitable societal prejudices which, unfortunately, are still present and seem to be on the increase.
Good luck and thanks for asking. |
|
Read More Answered By: Edmund Burke |
You left out a couple of important facts in your question:
A. Are you in a public school or a private school?
B. Is this person an employee of the school (or maybe just another student)?
If the person is a public school teacher and you are in his/her class, then a display of animus based on ethnicity could be quite serious. Because one would suspect that it could be tied to academic consequences (e.g. maybe this is why you got a bad grade in the class).
If you're in a private school and it's another student saying that, then there's not much recourse unless there is some kind of physical violence. Private citizens have under the First Amendment the right to have --and express --morally reprehensible views, as long as they don't act on them by e.g. destroying your property.
|
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► A house keeper broke a toilet seat and accused guest of breaking it. Hotel charged...
► How do I remove myself from megans law after crime was commited 16 yrs age, penal...
► I am a 16 year old girl who had sex with a 15 year old boy. i got pregnant and my...
► What do you do if you think a judge does not like your lawyer and is also playing...
► As a teacher I just received a notice of non-reelection for next school year....
► I am 18 and I had sex with my 15 year old girlfriend. I need to take a polygraph...
► Does a security guard can ask you if you are a US citizen before giving you a badge...
More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press