California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
11/16/04, 8:31 pm

Legal Question


Does this scenario of sexual discrimination in the work place allow for a law su

I have been employed by a non-profit organization for 4 years servicing troubled youth. At the beginning of this last year I became romantically involved with a co-worker. This relationship lasted 4-5 months. During this time we were working alongside each other he was promoted to be an interim director of the unit. When the relationship was over there was gossip at work that he had been involved sexually with many other women in the company. My director then heard the gossip and moved all of the women he was involved with to other units keeping him as an interim director. Upon my move I had a meeting with the HR director and director of the facility explaining to me that he could not supervise that is why I had to move units. Also during that meeting it was discussed that they were in the process of hiring a permanent director. It has been 1 month since my move and he was promoted to permanent director. I have since handed in my 2 week resignation notice. I feel shafted by this company and feel embaressed at the message that was sent by moving the women around and promoting him. I have also noticed negative male attention from my co-workers and the other women have as well. Is this discrimination for a law suite? Thx


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search