California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 12:59 pm

Legal Question


If you are turned away for services at a salon, because they tell you that they do not want to work on you because of your race/genetics... do you have a case even if there was no other witness in the store? Or does this go along with their "Right to refuse service to anyone" policy?


question bubble
11/16/09, 1:40 pm

Legal Answer


It is illegal under state and federal law for a private business to refuse to service a customer because of their race or ethnicity. However, the strength of any case will depend on the facts to support its allegations. If there were no witnesses and it boils down to your word against theirs, and you have no other evidence to prove what you are saying is true, you will have a difficult time winning such a claim.

Michael Kirschbaum

Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum 2 Park Plaza, Suite 650 Irvine, CA 92614

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/16/09, 5:04 pm

Legal Answer


Race is not a category on which they can refuse you. If you can prove and corroborate that, you have a case. Feel free to contact me if serious about pursuing this. I've done discrimination cases for over 20 years.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search