California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
7/27/10, 12:07 pm

Legal Question


Hi I was wondering if my situation could be a privacy violation?

Here is what happened: I was called into a private meeting this morning at my workplace with the chief medical office (I am a doctor) and chief executive officer of the company. It was said they investigated several people and found that my internet usage and several others were higher than average and we have been using the internet for non-business related purposes, which is against policy. They described that people have been using sites such as social networking, sports, adult websites and the like, which are not permitted.

The issue I have is that they were meeting with several people individually that same morning and when I arrived they said Dr. X (can't use real name) is still in the meeting with them so they were not ready. From this I logically concluded that Dr. X was also overusing the internet and using it for non-business purposes. Additionally, unlike Dr. X, I am normally not scheduled to be in the workplace on Tuesdays so other people can logically conclude that I was there for the meeting for using non-business related websites or social networking and the like.

So eventhrough the meeting itself was private, is my privacy violated since people can deduce the reason I was there and the reason I was in the meeting?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search