California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
9/04/10, 7:26 am

Legal Question


I work for the State of Californa's Employment Development Department in their Disability Insurance division. At this time last year we were furloughed 3 days a months by our Governor. As of July 1, 2010 we are no longer furloughed and, therefore, have returned to our regular 7 customary schedules.

I am Jewish and my employer have me Yom Kippur off last year with no problem. this year they refused citing "departmental needs." due to the make up of the office, I think I am being discriminated against because of my religion.

Is there anything I can do? My union is of no use.

thank you for a prompt response.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search