California | DUI Law
Legal Question
dentures
is there a law that states that i should have been advised of my right to remove my dentures before blowing into a intoxilyzer-alcohol analyzer?.
dentures
is there a law that states that i should have been advised of my right to remove my dentures before blowing into a intoxilyzer-alcohol analyzer?.
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Jones |
Re: dentures no..there is no law per se that requires the officers to inform you. However, it is important to understand that when administering a blood/alcohol test, the officers are required to adhere to a very strict checklist of tasks that they are supposed to comply with. Failure to do so may reslut in an inaccurate reading of the blood/alcohol level and may be able to be used against the officer to show that he administered the test improperly, and therefore, the results are unreliable. Also, the fact that you do wear dentures may have caused a certain amount of alcohol to become trapped in your mouth and therefore be blown directly into the breatalyzer, thereby causing in anaccurate reading. This is a huge issue and may be one that can help you and your attorney gain an ACQUITTAL in your case. If you have other questions regarding your arrest or are interested in finding out more about this situation, please feel free to call me: (818) 398-3788 24 hrs a day....7 days a week |
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Taylor |
Re: dentures No, there is no law that requires the officer to notify you that you can remove your dentures.
However, officers are supposed to be trained to ask questions about possible contaminants in the mouth. Failure to do so can be brought out on cross-examination to establish two things:
1. The officer did not follow proper procedures, and so his credibility is damaged.
2. The test results are probably unreliable, due to the possible presence of so-called "mouth alcohol" trapped by the dentures. (See my book "Drunk Driving Defense, 5th edition" for an explanation of this and other chemical test problems).
Lawrence Taylor Practice limited to DUI defense (Southern California) http://www.DUIcentral.com |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 990
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Chico, CA
Questions Answered: 748
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-24
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Palmdale-victorville-valencia, CA
Questions Answered: 584
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
► Subject if your alcohol content is under .08 then how can you still be leagally...
► Husband's 1st ever dui I am in the military currently in Texas. My husband lives in...
► 3rd Dui I received my 3rd dui. i have a outstanding military career. the military is...
► Submission of evidence . . I pulled to the soft shoulder of the road a vehicle...
► D.u.i. class After not attending the first opportunity, my wife completed a DUI...
► Second offense D.U.I. What can I expect? I am writing with a couple of concerns...
► Can I represent my son in a DUI case? My 18 year old son was charged with DUI under...
More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press