California  |  DUI Law

question bubble
2/23/10, 10:54 am

Legal Question


can i get a law enforcement job with a wet reckless on your record?


question bubble
2/28/10, 1:20 pm

Legal Answer


In California, only a felony conviction is an automatic bar to becoming a Peace Officer (which includes police & CHP officers, deputy sheriffs, etc.).

However, other convictions could cause problems. It depends on the individual department where you're applying.

You could start your research by checking out the state Police Officer Standards & Training commission website. All peace officers must be P.O.S.T certified.

http://www.post.ca.gov/

Robert Marshall

Law Office of Robert L, Marshall P.O. Box 7150 Chico, CA 95927-7150

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/28/10, 2:29 pm

Legal Answer


It's up to the agency to set their standards. Ask.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search