California | DUI Law
Legal Question
if a police officer doesn't read you your rights does that make the evidence he has acquired dismissible?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Joe Dane |
They are required to read you your rights if you're in custody and being interrogated. Roadside detentions are typically not custody (but they may be), so Miranda rights aren't required.
If they were supposed to read you your rights but didn't, the statement and any evidence directly obtained as a result of that statement can be excluded. It doesn't automatically mean the whole case will be thrown out though unless the statement is all they had. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
No. You would have an evidence suppression issue only if police or prosecutors seek to introduce as evidence a statement or confession obtained after arrest without advising you of Miranda rights. It would be unusual for police to interrogate after arrest without a Miranda advisement. You might be surprised to find the police reports claim you were so advised.
Of course you can fight the charges. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, and can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all possible defenses with whatever admissible and credible witnesses, evidence, facts and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or at trial. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion program, reduction, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
Keep in mind a little free advice: When charged or arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic one-year suspension of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does.
If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Joe Dane
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 990
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Hale Law Group
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Robert L, Marshall
Chico, CA
Questions Answered: 748
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-24
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices OF David M. Wallin
Palmdale-victorville-valencia, CA
Questions Answered: 584
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Search Questions and Answers


