Legal Question in DUI Law in California

I have been pondering my outcomes and loosing sleep. I would like the best advice possible before going back to the court house -

I have received my first DUI at the age of 19 years of age when I was pulled over in a parking lot of a mall when someone was provoking me to fight then when wanted peace and I left and he called the cops on my vehicle - Unfortunate

I then recently got pulled over and got ticketed for my 2nd - Postponed court twice because I didn't know which road to take - Now I most likely have a bench warrent - I don't mind going to court but want to make my decision final and would like your advice first.

I was out with my father after a day of eating and some drinking (in his vehicle) I was passenger. He started to drive recklessly not obeying traffic laws and put my life in danger. He was most likely on prescription medication which I was unaware of. (He has been in and out of the local jail for alcohol related behaviors) Both of our cell phones were dead. He was uncontrollable and was not only threatening my life but the life of others. I did not know the area to well and only knew my way home. He was not to responsive and It was a suburban area so I made the decision to drive us home cautiously (1st mistake). I was stopped after making a complete stop on the road at a stop sign obeying the laws of the road. The cop pulled me over and immediately asked me if I was drinking and did the routine DUI checks. I should of explained the situation there but I was told - ( 2nd mistake). I ended up doing a blood test and was at 0.013 i believe.

I don't know if I should plead not guilty and take my chances with a public defender or a lawyer - For either a lighter sentence or to go in front of a jury.

- The cops claim I was speeding but I don't think they have any proof I was the only car on the road and it was in a 30

Any Advice?

Asked on 7/17/13, 11:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joshua Hale Hale Law Group
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Get a lawyer.

Me or anyone else.

Get a lawyer.

Read more
7/17/13, 11:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now