California | DUI Law
Legal Question
My son is convinced that on his DUI, first time offense, with the minimum .08, that the results will be the same with or without a lawyer, and he doesn't have the money for a lawyer. I would accompany him and speak in his defense if permitted, telling the judge of his recent hardships with his mother passing away, and his going through a divorce right now, that had something to do with his driving after drinking.
Is the having lawyer vs. not having lawyer a big factor in this case? Are they more apt to be tougher on him w/o a lawyer present? And what would the results be most likely in both cases if there's a difference. (The court case is scheduled for Nov. 3.)


