California | DUI Law
Legal Question
Weekend work program
I have 11 days on the weekend work program for DUI. i have already completed 4 days, is there anyway i can convert this work program into a fine and not work the 7 days
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Scott K. Zimmerman |
Re: Weekend work program It sounds like you were assigned to a Sheriff's Work Alternative program, which instead of your serving time in jail........ cannot be converted to a fine........ however to change the work detail you must go back to the court and ask the clerk in the criminal department to put the case on the calendar as an "add on". The clerk will tell you when and in what dept the case will be heard. You will then ask the judge, when your case is called, to convert the work detail to a fine. This will work ONLY if the work detail is in lieu of a fine in the first place. IF the work detail is in lieu of jail time, then the court has the power to send you to jail instead of the work detail. Be careful what you ask for, and check first to see on what basis you got the work detail. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Joe Dane
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 990
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Hale Law Group
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Robert L, Marshall
Chico, CA
Questions Answered: 748
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-24
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices OF David M. Wallin
Palmdale-victorville-valencia, CA
Questions Answered: 584
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Search Questions and Answers


