California  |  Education Law

question bubble
6/19/10, 9:18 am

Legal Question


If a child was not drinking but admits being around other students who were, is it worthwhile to appeal her suspension (after the fact; at the time, we were told there could be no appeal)?


question bubble
6/19/10, 3:24 pm

Legal Answer


If the suspension was for a relatively short period of time, I do not think it would be worthwhile.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/21/10, 2:06 pm

Legal Answer


Hi-

I would try to challenge it. You can attempt to get it removed based on it being a false or misleading record if the student was not doing anything which breached any education code section. I wonder if this was even a valid suspension!

Michelle Ball

Education Attorney for Students since 1995

http://www.edlaw4students.com

Michelle Ball

Law Office of Michelle Ball 717 K Street, Suite 228 Sacramento, CA 95814

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search