California | Education Law
Legal Question
My daughter goes to High School in San Jose, California. I tried to get her out of a class that is no longer required in the curriculum or for school credits, considering she has enough credits to graduate. The school said that I could not take her out of the class. Is this legal? They are forcing her to take a class she doesn't need or want, and against my wishes. Also it is absolute fact that other students have been taken out of this class, same teacher and subject.
Legal Answer
Hello again:
The California compulsory education law requires students from 6-18 to attend school the full school day as designated by the school board. However, that begs the question when a student is in a class they don't need.
I believe she should be allowed to transfer out and don't know what is going on here. You will likely need to get an attorney to try to get this straightened out.
Michelle Ball
Education attorney for students since 1995
http://www.edlaw4students.com/index.html
916-444-9064
Law Office of Michelle Ball 717 K Street, Suite 228 Sacramento, CA 95814
► Other answers from this attorney

