California  |  Education Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/21/11, 12:31 am

I have an existing student loan debt before getting married. will the bank take the joint property such as the house that belongs to my husband and me if one day I would not be able to pay the student loan debt?

2 Answers


Answered on: 4/21/11, 6:01 am by George Shers

The lender can only go after your interest in any property, but all your earnings since you married are community property that the lender can go after once they have an enforceable judgment.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/21/11, 6:01 am by George Shers

The lender can only go after your interest in any property, but all your earnings since you married are community property that the lender can go after once they have an enforceable judgment.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search