California  |  Education Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/17/13, 7:49 pm

where can I find the law concerning a child with a iep and the disability and punishment in school district

3 Answers


Answered on: 3/17/13, 8:14 pm by Allison Arkin

The law on special education is the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the California Education Code also covers students with special needs.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Allison Arkin 708 Kingman Ave. Santa Monica, CA 90402

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/17/13, 10:02 pm by Daphne Macklin

You want to contact Disability Rights Rights California

www.disabilityrightsca.org/ /

This public interest law firm focus on issues concerning persons with disabilities.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Daphne L. Macklin P.O. Box 661702 Sacramento, CA 95866

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/18/13, 12:53 am by James Goff

Your question is not quite clear. The previous answers are generally correct regarding legal provisions regarding children with IEPs-20 United States Code section 1415, and California Education Code section 48900 et seq. generally cover school discipline for students under IEPs. Typically, if a school district imposes punishment that results in a student being out of school for 10 days or more, has to hold a manifestation determination at which it must determine whether student's conduct resulting in the imposition of punishment was directly related to student's disability. If student's disability was a factor in the action leading to the discipline then it was related to student's disability. The manifestation determination hearing should occur within 10 days of rhe disciplinary decision. Hope this is helpful.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


James R. Goff, Attorney at Law P.O. Box 6873 Laguna Niguel, CA 92607

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

8627 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search