California  |  Education Law

question bubble
10/14/09, 9:31 pm

Legal Question


Can a highschool legally suspend a student for 5 days for watching a vandalism event on a sunday?


question bubble
10/14/09, 10:43 pm

Legal Answer


There isn''t much to go on here. Did the vandalism take place on school property? Was the suspended student a mere passerby or was he/she part of a group that physically committed the vandalism?

Andrew Harrell

W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law Suite 1108, 388 E. Ocean Blvd. Long Beach, CA 90802

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/15/09, 6:59 pm

Legal Answer


Hello:

If a student attempted to cause damage to school or private property or disrupted school activities, they can be suspended regardless of the day. I don't know that either of those apply here. More information on the exact factual situation is required.

I would suggest discussing with an education law attorney.

Sincerely, Michelle Ball

California Education Law Attorney for Students since 1995

http://www.edlaw4students.com

Michelle Ball

Law Office of Michelle Ball 717 K Street, Suite 228 Sacramento, CA 95814

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search