California  |  Education Law

question bubble
9/30/09, 7:53 pm

Legal Question


How to do I intend to file a suit against a school, and school district? How do I also make a complaint against a principal, vice principal, and a teacher? How can i go about proving discrimination, and neglect/abuse of a student.


question bubble
9/30/09, 8:04 pm

Legal Answer


There are a lot of components to your question. First, you have short time limits in dealing with a public school and must lodge a Government Tort Claim form within 6 months if there is injury. You can also pursue personnel complaints and file a discrimination complaint with certain agencies.

Having an attorney is vital to ensure you pursue the right path.

Michelle Ball

California Education Law Attorney for Students

http://www.edlaw4students.com

Michelle Ball

Law Office of Michelle Ball 717 K Street, Suite 228 Sacramento, CA 95814

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/30/09, 8:54 pm

Legal Answer


You also may have rights under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act ("IDEA"), which provides for the education of students with special needs. IDEA disputes are handled through administrative hearings, typically referred to as "due process." For more information, you can check out the website for the California Department of Education under Special Education.

Marcy J.K. Tiffany,

Wyner & Tiffany,

www.specialedlaw.org,

mtiffany@specialedlaw.org

Marcy Tiffany

Law Offices of Marcy J.K. Tiffany 33 Marguerite Drive Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/30/09, 9:29 pm

Legal Answer


Your question is too general to assess whether or not you have a viable issue that allows a judicial solution.

Andrew Harrell

W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law Suite 1108, 388 E. Ocean Blvd. Long Beach, CA 90802

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search