California | Education Law
Legal Question
Can a kindergarten child attend school in 2 districts if the parents share 50-50 custody as of the time being? She is with me Tues,Wed, Thurs and goes to our school. On Mon and Fri she attends my ex's school. I have her 120 out of the 180 school days in CA or 2/3rds of the time. K is not required but how would the state work out the ADA?
Legal Answer
No. The child must attend one school, and the parents have to work out with each other, or with the help of the courts/mediator which school that will be. The only other option is independent study and/or home school where the parents share the responsibility of the instruction using private or public institutions to guide the process. She would, however, still only attend one school.
Michelle Ball
Sacramento California Education Attorney for Students
http://www.edlaw4students.com
Law Office of Michelle Ball 717 K Street, Suite 228 Sacramento, CA 95814
► Other answers from this attorney

