California | Education Law
Legal Question
NCLB policy for schools not meeting AYP standards
My child attends a school that didn't meet AYP standards last year. We received a letter stating that we had the right to request
a transfer to a school w/in the distric that had met their AYP stds. I would like to request a specific school which I know has openings. Will my request based on the Federal Intervention Progarm policy be treated the same as other intra-district transfer requests that my district receives? Can my child be bumped from their spot after being accepted to the new AYP-conforming school if new ''neighborhood'' students arrive later in the year (the cutoff date in our district for being ''bumped'' is the end of Oct.)?
I asked the district and they said the NCLB act allows me to request a school that passed AYP standards. However, the district can decide exactly which of the qualifying schools to send my child to. And they said I'd be in the same boat as all the other intra-district transfer requests (kind of a ''get in line, and know you may be bumped even after your let in'' response).
Thank you for clarifying as soon as possible. Lots of change is happening district-wide, and clarity on this subject will be very helpful.


