California  |  Education Law

question bubble
10/18/09, 4:25 am

Legal Question


my son consumed a small amount of alcohol off campus around 9:00 pm then on the way home took a shortcut through a school campus at which time he was stopped by campus security and questioned. he did admit to comsuming an alcoholic beverage earlier off of campus. can he still be expelled pursuit to calif education section 48900 catagory "c" being that he was not on campus when the alcohol was consumed?


question bubble
10/20/09, 2:36 pm

Legal Answer


Yes, unfortunately the Education Code states that acts while on school grounds or while going to/coming from school can be the basis for an expulsion. If he was intoxicated on school grounds, that is likely enough. There may be arguments, however, surrounding the time of day, the relation of this act to school activity/attendance, etc.

It is very important you hire an education attorney to help you resolve this matter in your son's best interests.

Michelle Ball, California Education Attorney for Students since 1995

http://www.edlaw4students.com

Michelle Ball

Law Office of Michelle Ball 717 K Street, Suite 228 Sacramento, CA 95814

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search