California  |  Education Law

question bubble
3/22/10, 5:09 pm

Legal Question


my son was holding something for anither student at school, he placed it in the desk and it exploded. it was found to be potassium tablets for the school lab. my son is now being expelled from school. he didn't steal them form the lab nor did he know what he was holding


question bubble
3/27/10, 9:08 pm

Legal Answer


There should be a hearing on this. Your son cannot be expelled without one. Call me.

Andrew Harrell

W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law Suite 1108, 388 E. Ocean Blvd. Long Beach, CA 90802

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/30/10, 10:08 am

Legal Answer


Hello:

If he had no knowledge of what he was holding- potassium tablets- that certainly will help with his defense. I have not heard of potassium tablets going off alone without another agent present so am curious what was going on here.

His discipline history will also matter.

I would urge you to consult with an attorney on this matter to discuss your options. You may be able to negotiate a good outcome pre-hearing.

Best of luck!

Michelle Ball

Education attorney for students since 1995

http://www.edlaw4students.com

916-444-9064

Michelle Ball

Law Office of Michelle Ball 717 K Street, Suite 228 Sacramento, CA 95814

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search