California  |  Elder Law

question bubble
4/12/09, 1:05 am

Legal Question


What are the benefits of getting Conservership?

My dad is 84 years old. He suffers from dementia and different serious conduct disorders. He has Medical but not medicare.

A couple of times, I have removed a sharp knife that he was hiding and saying that he plans to attach my wife and me in the middle of night. Since three weeks, police has taken him to Valley Medical Center because of his conduct issues.

The VMC doctors have written me a letter stating that my dad needs to be sent to a secure facility as he needs 24 hours care. Although I have been asking the VMC doctors to follow their own recommendation and arrange to send my dad to a secure facility, the doctors and the hospital social workers keep insisting on me to get a conservership from the court first.

My dad does not have any assets except the SSI that he gets.

My questions are as follows:

1) Why can’t the VMC transfer my dad to a secure facility without requiring me to get a conservers hip on the person of my dad?

2) Without getting a conservership, do I have the right of insisting on the VMC to transfer my dad to a secure facility?

3) What are my financial liabilities if I get a conservership on the person of my dad?

Thank you very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search