California  |  Elder Law

question bubble
11/08/09, 5:16 pm

Legal Question


My father has power of attorney for my aunt, who is now in 3rd level alzheimers. My father is also getting old and wants to pass the responsibility to me. How do we do this. Do I get another power of attorney from her? What type of power of attorney should I get. She is at a level that she is in an alzheimers care facility.


question bubble
11/15/09, 4:17 pm

Legal Answer


You would have to get it from your aunt. You should get a durable power of attorney. She has to be competent to understand what she is doing though. Any power of attorney is valid only while the person giving it is alive.

If she has assets you should get at least a will done and an Advance Health Care Directive for medical decisions.

Good luck and thank you for your inquiry.

John D. Williams

Law Offices of John D. Williams 2625 Townsgate Road, Suite 330 Westlake Village, CA 91361-5749

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/15/09, 4:40 pm

Legal Answer


As she is incompetent you must apply for a conservatorship. Contact me directly.

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES 2185 Sunset Cliffs Blvd. San Diego, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search