California | Elder Law
Legal Question
Guardianship of a Grandparent
I am an 18 year old adult taking care of my 68 year old schizophrenic grandmother. She has been financially taken advantage of by other family members. While in their care, her small social security pension was treated as a community free-for-all. She recently put all of her assets into my possession. Now that I am applying to be her caregiver, all of her relatives are harassing me for the position and her property. Legally, would a written agreement/contract suffice? Or would it be necessary for me to become her guardian or conservator?


