California | Elder Law
Legal Question
Does state take everything if catastrophic illness occurs?
My mother is seriously concerned about losing all her assets in the event she suffers a catastrophic event ,i.e., stroke, alzheimers, etc.. She believes that if this were to occur, the state would automatically get everything (home, invest,ents, car, etc)she has ever owned. Is this true? If so, what can be done to prevent it?
After reading many posts here, it seems a durable power of attorney might be one way of stopping this - she also has a living will (she doesn't want to be resuscitated in event of heart attack) and a will that - will the POA make her sleep better and allay her fears?
TIA


