what is the statute of limitation for elder abuse
5 Answers from Attorneys
If you are the abused, go file criminal charges immediately. If the police refuse because of the statute, then you'll at least have tried. You also have probably two years to bring civil suit on personal injuries.
If you are the abuser, worried about being arrested, it is at least several years, depending upon the exact charges that could be filed.
There are also situations when the statute of limitations can be extended. Do you need an attorney?
Daniel Bakondi, Esq.
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
870 Market Street, Suite 1161
San Francisco CA 94102
IMPORTANT NOTICE: This communication may contain confidential information, privileged information, or attorney work product. If you are not the intended recipient or received this message in error, any use or distribution of this message is strictly prohibited and unlawful. Please notify the sender immediately, and delete this message. No attorney-client nor confidential relationship is created through this communication. Nothing communicated or provided constitutes legal advice nor a legal opinion unless it so specifies and written agreement for attorney services has been entered into. Attorney licensed in California only. Your issue may be time sensitive and may result in loss of rights if you do not act in time. Thank you.
1 to 4 years dependent upon the cause of action. Financial abuse gets the longer statute of limitations.
Mr. Brear is wrong. There is no 1 year statute of limitations for elder abuse. If it is elder abuse that causes physical injury, it is the two (2) year statute of limitation provided by Code of Civil Procedure section 35.1. In Benun v. Superior Court (2004) 123 Cal.App.4th 113, 125-126, the Court of Appeal states that an action for Elder Abuse is governed by the two (2) year statute of limitation provided by Code of Civil Procedure section 335.1.
A cause of action for elder abuse based on financial abuse is four (4) years. “An action for damages pursuant Sections 15657.5 and 15657.6 for financial abuse of an elder or dependent adult, as defined in Section 15610.30, shall be commenced within (4) four years after the plaintiff discovers or, through the exercise of reasonable diligence, should have discovered, the facts constituting the financial abuse.” (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 15657.7.)
That last section went into effect at the beginning of 2009. It is not clear what statute governed before then, because there was no specific statute for financial elder abuse prior to 2009.
The statute of limitations can vary depending upon the circumstances, i.e., whether you are talking about physical injury or financial abuse, medical malpractice, etc.
Additionally, there is the possibility that the statute of limitations can be "tolled" (stopped) depending upon the mental competence of the elder involved.
Thus, it sounds like you really need to discuss the matter with a local attorney.
Let me know if you would like to discuss the matter as I am in Westlake Village and it would appear that you are located in Simi Valley.
Related Questions & Answers
I am a 72 yr old lady who supported her 3 kids by herself when they were babies, Is... Asked 7/29/10, 1:51 pm in United States California Elder Law
Can a Daughter with Power of Attorney borrow moneyb against her dads reverse... Asked 7/27/10, 2:49 pm in United States California Elder Law
Can I, as 3rd party, have my two adult brothers evicted from my elderly mother's... Asked 7/21/10, 6:32 pm in United States California Elder Law
What is the possible punishment for elder neglect in California? This is regarding... Asked 7/19/10, 12:58 pm in United States California Elder Law
I had an estranged father I literally had no contact with in 35 years. We were... Asked 7/18/10, 12:30 pm in United States California Elder Law