California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
10/06/04, 11:18 am

Legal Question


Contractual Agreement regarding various royalties

I produce records for a record company in Los Angeles. I live in Nashville, TN. I believe that the terms of my contracts fall under the jurisdiction of CA. laws. I have a two part problem.

1. According to my producer contract, royalties are to be calculated, paid and statements provided within 60 days of the pay periods which end on 12/31 and 6/30.

I have not received my royalty statement or payments for the last pay period (6/30) and I am curious as to what action could be taken.

2. I also have 8 songs that are BMI registered works that have been released by the label going back over a year ago that have yet to be contracted under the terms of an ''Exhibit A Songwriter Agreement'' attachment of my main producer agreement. These also are supposed to be paid royalties within 90 days of same pay periods and I have never received my royalties, statements and have never received contracts on these songs.

What steps need to be taken to resolve this situation?

Since the producer agreement pertains to the ownership of the master recordings and, assuming the company is in breach of contract, would the masters revert back to my ownership?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search