California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
Donations over the internet
Can an individual ask for donations over the
internet for independent television/film
projects?
Donations over the internet
Can an individual ask for donations over the
internet for independent television/film
projects?
|
Read More Answered By: Gordon Firemark |
Re: Donations over the internet "donations" is an interesting concept. If the contribution is to be tax deductible by the donor, the film company would have to be organized as a non-profit, tax exempt organization.
If its not, the 'donation' would likely be treated as an investment.
Investment deals for film projects usually can NOT be 'advertised', since doing so prevents the company from using most of the exemptions from the Securities registration requirement.
Most investment structures involve the sale of securities, which must be either registered with the SEC (at great cost and very time consuming), or exempt, using a "private placement".
Consult an attorney before attempting to finance your project... no matter how small. If you don't, you could wind up in some real hot water... even jail. |
|
Read More Answered By: Chris Johnson |
Re: Donations over the internet Donations would be to a tax-exempt organization, and can be tax-deductible. If you're asking for gifts to you, for whatever purpose, with no expectation of the money being returned, it would likely be treated as a gift to you. They're not tax-deductible, but they're also not taxable if the amount from any individual doesn't exceed $13,000 to you in one year.
If, on the other hand, the people contributing money have an expectation that it will be returned in some way, or it's a gift with strings attached, you should tread carefully and review the proposed arrangements with an attorney. |
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
West Hollywood, CA
Questions Answered: 320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
► Actor/Talent Manager Contract I was working with a talent manager while I was living...
► Trademark infringement I have a trademarked name used for a team that i played on...
► How can i get rights to sell artist 's ringtones I want to start a website where i...
► Selling Ringtones Online Hi I want to start a website where i will be selling...
► Sitcom show rights? Can I be legally sued if I decide to rent out a venue for a...
► Entertainment I'm starting my own promotions company and am looking to rent out a...
► Novel I have used a famous person (Charlie Chaplin) in my book and his first name on...
More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press