California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
6/27/08, 12:47 am

Legal Question


Entertainment Law (Emails legally binding?)

I have been represented by a

manager for a script that I have

written, and stipulated that the

manager would receive 15% of

money earned if the project is sold.

This was stated in an email that I

wrote to the manager. He facilitated

a meeting with an agent, who now

represents me. However, the script

has not yet been sold to a studio, and

I have not signed any contracts with

the manager other than the email I

sent discussing the 15%. The

manager has since become unreliable

and I am choosing to terminate my

relationship with him. Because the

script has not yet been sold, and no

money is attached as of yet, is the

manager legally entitled to any

money based on a future sale despite

the termination of our current

relationship? Again, only an email

stipulation of percentage has taken

place. No contracts have been

signed.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search