California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
If an extra's face is recognizable in a feature film does a release have to be signed? If no, how is the productions company at risk?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Keith E. Cooper |
If you're smart enough to ask the question, you probably already know the answer.
You need an agreement (or at the very least, a proper release) from everyone who works on or in your picture (cast, crew, etc), whether their face shows or not. In the case of extras that may be a simple one-pager that grants rights to name, likeness, biography and a work-for-hire statement for all services rendered.
The single biggest mistake filmmakers make (that is, the cause of most legal problems) is not having a signed agreement with each person before they begin work. It's simple enough to do before they start and a big (expensive) pain to do later. (I recommend giving your people a first-day call time early enough to allow time for the paperwork before work begins.)
The DVD/book series "What Every Filmmaker Needs to Know About the Law" (available from the web site of the same name) is a worthwhile investment for any prospective producer. It's an inexpensive way to get answers to all your legal questions and save money on legal fees. |
Top Attorneys in CA
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Jonas M. Grant, A.P.C.
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Keith E. Cooper, Esq.
West Hollywood, CA
Questions Answered: 320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
M.E.T.A.L. Law Group LLP - Los Angeles Entertainment Attorneys
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Withrow and Betinol Law
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Search Questions and Answers


