California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
7/11/02, 6:38 pm

Legal Question


using network logos in documentaries

The subject of my documentary, an athlete, was

featured on several network shows, including

ESPN, Fox, and CBS.

Networks normally won't allow producers to have

the footage of their shows, like CBS's ''48 hours,''

without a hefty price.

While I don't want to buy the rights to the footage

on these shows, may I use their logos in my film

without asking permission? For example, I can

get CBS's logo off the internet or tape the quick

CBS logo off the televison.

In my film, I have a narrator explaining that the

athlete has appeared on many network shows. At

that point, I'd like to flash ESPN, CBS, and Fox's

logos on the screen...CBS's eye, ESPN's red and

white lettering, and Fox's blue and yellow logo. I

can either capture each of those logos full screen

off the Internet, or record them off the TV. It's just a

way to show which networks the athlete has

appeared on without showing the interviews.

I know logos are copyrighted, but does that mean

I need to ask permission to even show tthe logos

for 2 seconds each in my film?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search