California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
4/13/04, 8:25 pm

Legal Question


Pulic internet postings used for material in a play.

I would like to do a play based on a popular non-profit internet forum called Craigslist.com. On this website people anonymously post their opinions, rants, raves, funny stories, etc. Are these postings protected or could they be used without permission in a staged performance? I already have permission from the website itself to use the name craigslist, but we are unsure if the material posted on the site are under any sort of copyright protections.

thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search