California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
9/24/09, 9:21 pm

Legal Question


I started working on a film script with another person. The idea of the story was mine and almost all the story ideas coming forward were mine.

He was an experienced television writer, his job would be to write the script. (He is a member of the WGA, I am not.) But when he started writing the script, I did not like the writing and we decided to part ways.

In parting, he asked that if I sell the script, that we share a story created by credit. He did not create the story, but certainly did help to get the ball rolling. I agreed.

I am close to finishing the script. Less than 1% of 1% of 1% of the script is of his creation.

There are issues of integrity here, I said he could share the credit. He probably has an e-mail communication verifying this. On the otherhand, his contribution is not highly worthy of such a credit. I feel like an automobile racer who has to share his trophy with the guy who cleaned the rear view mirror before the race.

Do I lose anything by sharing the story created by credit? Is the credit prorated in some way financially to reflect the level of contribution by each participant? If there is a sequel, does he still get a created by credit. What is your advice here?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search