California | Entertainment Law
9/02/09, 9:50 pm
Legal Question
Can you sue if you accidentally get hit with a foul or home run ball at a professional baseball game?
Can you sue if you accidentally get hit with a foul or home run ball at a professional baseball game?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
One could sue for just about anything. Whether the person would win is another question!
You might want to look up the phrase "primary assumption of risk." Because baseball is a spectator sport, part of the excitement is to be where the action is. One of the risks (and benefits) of going to the ballpark is to be in contact with a home run or foul ball. More than likely the batter and team would not be held liable for injury that results. However, whether the stadium operator/owner might be liable for not providing a safer environment is a different question. If the operator/owner had not, for example, put up nets behind home plate, it might be held liable because many foul balls or even bad pitches wind up in the stands behind the catcher. On the other hand, if there are no screens in left field and an occasional home run ball might land in the bleachers, that might be something different. |
|
Read More Answered By: Keith E. Cooper |
Probably not, because most sports venues put notices on their tickets (did you read the back of yours?) and signs around the entrances that say by entering you assume any risks. This may not hold up, however, if the venue owners did not take proper precautions. If you are seriously injured, speak with an attorney who can give you personal advice about your specific situation. |
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
West Hollywood, CA
Questions Answered: 320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
► I have a reality show concept that involves a group of people. I have contacted the...
► I have started taking "street photos" and have several which I want to...
► I'm making a music video intended for use on the internet and perhaps television....
► Hello, My name is Peter Nolte and I recently penned a song (words & music) and...
► Thanks Richard. In more detail, I'm "working" with Paul Maslansky (Police...
► I'm looking for an "attachment agreement" contract with an established...
► I recently signed a contract to do adult videos, and am doubting the integrity of...
More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press