Re: Someone Wrote A Book About Me
I had a similar situation with a person who believed she was the model for a character in the Red Hat Club,
which I believe may have had a sequel.
If the book is fiction, and the depiction of "your" character is derogatory, readily recognizable as you to those who know of you, and
is not in any way satire, you might be able to enjoin the publication.
Without that showing however, the book will be published; if it does have a derogatory depiction that is not satirical, you might be successful
in a suit for invasion of privacy.
There are strong constitutional freedoms involved here, and this type of suit would be expensive and complex. Have you seen an advance copy? When you say it will defame you, unless the book is non-fiction, how will you prove the character is "you" and what are the types of things said about you in the book?