California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
10/23/09, 12:39 am

Legal Question


I wrote a script and the producer wants me to transfer the rights in the script to him so he can raise money from investors. I do not want to transfer any rights until I can be represented by an attorney who does these kinds of deals all the time and has the right kind of expertise. I cannot afford an attorney until I am paid for the script. I have no idea what rights to grant (sell or license, etc.) and what rights to withhold, or how much I should get paid for what I do grant. Does anyone know how issues like this are handled?


question bubble
10/28/09, 12:28 pm

Legal Answer


The way issues like this are handled is that the producer PAYS (a modest option price) for an initial option period of 6-12 months in which to secure full financing for the production. Then, when/if he's successful, he pays a larger purchase price for the full package of rights prior to actually filming the movie.

Writers should NOT grant any rights to a producer without compensation.

Gordon Firemark

Law Offices of Gordon P. Firemark 10940 Wilshire Blvd., 16th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90024

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/28/09, 4:09 pm

Legal Answer


You may also grant a limited license of your copywrited material with a baloon payment required prior to production. Contacte directly.

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES 2185 Sunset Cliffs Blvd. San Diego, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search