California  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/01/05, 3:23 pm

Legal Question


24 year marriage to dentist

I have been married for 24 years. My husband is a dentist. I helped put him through dental school and have been a housewife raising our 17 year old son for the past 17 years.

I am suspicious for the past 12 years that my husband has been having an affair. My husband refuses to discuss the possibility of us getting a divorce. I have no control, idea or any knowledge of our financial networth. He gives me money...I do not even have a checking account that I am allowed to use without his permission. He has complete control over all of our finances, I do not even see a tax return.

I would like information on my rights, in case I proceed obtaining a divorce. What financially speaking would I be entitled to if we were to get a divorce. I have not been in the work place for almost 18 years and am very concerned.

I do not even know how much money my husband makes or what his practice is worth. I think he hides what he is truly making from me.

Thanks for any help.

--name removed--


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search