California | Family Law
Legal Question
Adoption Procedures
I will be married 9-1-01. My daughter will be 2 on 8-17-01. She has never seen her natural father. He has never paid child support, provided for her, or been in the same room with her. WE HAVE NOT RECIEVED ANYTHING FROM HIM FINANCIALLY EVER. He is not on the birth certificate. My fiance is planning on adopting her after we are married. But I am not sure which way to go. Do I do an abandonment petition? Or termination of parental rights first? I have the book and software '' How to adopt your step child in Caliofornia'' but I am confused on which way to go. I know where the natural father lives.... and he knows where I live but he has never seen her in all the 2 years. Please help me.... I don't want to file the wrong papers. I know my options are Will failure to support child, abandonment, termination of aprental rights, and missing parent surfaces. THANK YOU


