California | Family Law
Legal Question
Adult Adoption vs. Name Change
My husband was 14 and Filipino when he was adopted by his Aunt and Uncle, both U.S. citizens. He now wants to terminate his child/parent relationship with his Aunt and Uncle and resume that relationship with his birth parents, who are both Filipino citizens. Since his adoption he has gotten married, had 2 children, and become a U.S. citizen. Would being re-adopted by his birth parents automatically cause his name to revert and cause my name as well as our children to change to his birth name, or would we need to go to court for the name change for all of us in addition to the adoption proceeding?


