California | Family Law
Legal Question
Asking for Alimony
MY wife and I are married for 8 years. She is doing very well with her job and making 4x more than me. She plans to divorce me in the near future. My question is, can she ask alimony from me even though she's earning more than me? Can I, in turn, ask for spousal support? Please advise.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: A. Russell Martin |
Re: Asking for Alimony You might be entitled to support if you are not able to independently maintain the marital standard of living despite full-time employment commensurate with your education and experience.
Courts generally use the following factors to determine the amount of support should be ordered: the length of the marriage; what each person needs; what each person pays or can pay (including earnings and earning capacity); whether having a job would make it too hard to take care of the child(ren); the age and health of both parties; debts and property; whether one spouse helped the other get an education, training, career, or professional license; whether there was domestic violence in the marriage; whether one spouse's career was affected by unemployment or by taking care of the children or home; and the tax impact of spousal support.
I need a lot more information to properly evaluate your case. Feel free to call me at (415) 364-1604 if you need further assistance.
Russ
A. Russell Martin, Esq. (SBN 226244) Law Office of A. Russell Martin 31 Reed Blvd., Suite 9D Mill Valley, CA 94941 Phone: (415) 364-1604 Fax: (877) 481-0937 E-Mail: LitigatorSF@Justice.com
_________________________________________________
DISCLAIMER: The Law Office of A. Russell Martin (hereinafter “Attorney”) is responding to your internet solicitation for legal help. If you did not solicit our help, please delete this e-mail and immediately contact our office to advise that you do not want further communication. This reply does not constitute legal advice. Attorney cannot render a considered legal opinion based on the limited information provided, so you should not rely on the general legal information contained herein, which may or may not be applicable to your case. Attorney cannot guarantee a particular result for your case and nothing in this e-mail constitutes a representation regarding the merits of your potential claims. Moreover, this reply is not an offer for professional services. Attorney will not take any action on your matter and no professional relationship will exist until Attorney and all prospective clients sign a separate written fee contract according to subsequently negotiated terms. Please be further advised that the law imposes strict time limitations for filing civil actions (“statutes of limitations”). Statutes of limitations are often very short and all potential claims will be lost forever if you fail to file them with the court or appropriate administrative agency in a timely manner. Consequently, you should immediately contact Attorney or another lawyer to fully protect your legal rights.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Brian Don Levy
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices James Chau
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


